A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Acer Computers
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Reset Vista to "new"...



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 19th 09, 03:26 AM posted to comp.sys.laptops,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer
Paul H
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Reset Vista to "new"...

I have an Acer 4730Z w/Vista Home Premium. I want to put it back to factory
condition. How? Is there a hidden disk partition that will do it for me?
Press some key while start-up is going on? I have 2 "recovery disks". Can
I use them? How? TIA, Paul

  #2  
Old September 19th 09, 03:43 AM posted to comp.sys.laptops,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer
Happy Oyster
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 47
Default Reset Vista to "new"...

On Fri, 18 Sep 2009 21:26:37 -0500, "Paul H"
wrote:

I have an Acer 4730Z w/Vista Home Premium. I want to put it back to factory
condition. How? Is there a hidden disk partition that will do it for me?
Press some key while start-up is going on? I have 2 "recovery disks". Can
I use them? How? TIA, Paul


Don't you have a handbook or at least a sheet of paper with a description how to
do it?
--
Charles Berliner: Geschichte der AnnaŽlle

http://www.ariplex.com/ama/ama_anna.htm
  #3  
Old September 19th 09, 04:13 AM posted to comp.sys.laptops,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer
Paul H
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Reset Vista to "new"...

I'm going to sell it, and the instruction manual, etc. has not been out of
the shrink wrap. But I have Googled, and have some ideas. Thanks,
anyway...

"Happy Oyster" wrote in message
...
On Fri, 18 Sep 2009 21:26:37 -0500, "Paul H"
wrote:

I have an Acer 4730Z w/Vista Home Premium. I want to put it back to
factory
condition. How? Is there a hidden disk partition that will do it for me?
Press some key while start-up is going on? I have 2 "recovery disks".
Can
I use them? How? TIA, Paul


Don't you have a handbook or at least a sheet of paper with a description
how to
do it?
--
Charles Berliner: Geschichte der AnnaŽlle

http://www.ariplex.com/ama/ama_anna.htm


  #4  
Old September 19th 09, 04:20 AM posted to comp.sys.laptops,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer
Happy Oyster
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 47
Default Reset Vista to "new"...

On Fri, 18 Sep 2009 22:13:32 -0500, "Paul H"
wrote:

I'm going to sell it, and the instruction manual, etc. has not been out of
the shrink wrap. But I have Googled, and have some ideas. Thanks,
anyway...


Then you have a problem because it is a MUST to completely erase all private
data on the HDD.



"Happy Oyster" wrote in message
.. .
On Fri, 18 Sep 2009 21:26:37 -0500, "Paul H"
wrote:

I have an Acer 4730Z w/Vista Home Premium. I want to put it back to
factory
condition. How? Is there a hidden disk partition that will do it for me?
Press some key while start-up is going on? I have 2 "recovery disks".
Can
I use them? How? TIA, Paul


Don't you have a handbook or at least a sheet of paper with a description
how to
do it?
--
Charles Berliner: Geschichte der AnnaŽlle

http://www.ariplex.com/ama/ama_anna.htm

--
Charles Berliner: Geschichte der AnnaŽlle

http://www.ariplex.com/ama/ama_anna.htm
  #5  
Old September 19th 09, 02:20 PM posted to comp.sys.laptops,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer
Don Phillipson[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 322
Default Reset Vista to "new"...

"Happy Oyster" wrote in message
news
On Fri, 18 Sep 2009 22:13:32 -0500, "Paul H"
wrote:

I'm going to sell it, and the instruction manual, etc. has not been out

of
the shrink wrap. But I have Googled, and have some ideas. Thanks,
anyway...


Then you have a problem because it is a MUST to completely erase all

private
data on the HDD.


I see no major problem, so long as Vista allows the user
to delete all files dated since he first started using this PC.
(Non-data files essential to Vista will be protected by Vista.)

--
Don Phillipson
Carlsbad Springs
(Ottawa, Canada)


  #6  
Old September 19th 09, 02:25 PM posted to comp.sys.laptops,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer
Paul H
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Reset Vista to "new"...

I used Acer eRecovery to cause the hidden disk partition to reformat the
disk and set Windows to factory condition.

"Happy Oyster" wrote in message
news
On Fri, 18 Sep 2009 22:13:32 -0500, "Paul H"
wrote:

I'm going to sell it, and the instruction manual, etc. has not been out of
the shrink wrap. But I have Googled, and have some ideas. Thanks,
anyway...


Then you have a problem because it is a MUST to completely erase all
private
data on the HDD.



"Happy Oyster" wrote in message
. ..
On Fri, 18 Sep 2009 21:26:37 -0500, "Paul H"

wrote:

I have an Acer 4730Z w/Vista Home Premium. I want to put it back to
factory
condition. How? Is there a hidden disk partition that will do it for
me?
Press some key while start-up is going on? I have 2 "recovery disks".
Can
I use them? How? TIA, Paul

Don't you have a handbook or at least a sheet of paper with a
description
how to
do it?
--
Charles Berliner: Geschichte der AnnaŽlle

http://www.ariplex.com/ama/ama_anna.htm

--
Charles Berliner: Geschichte der AnnaŽlle

http://www.ariplex.com/ama/ama_anna.htm


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB bootable maker: Diff between "HP Drive Key Boot Utility" and "HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool"? Jason Stacy Storage (alt) 1 April 21st 09 01:14 AM
vista x64 setup hangs at please wait, "ata channel 0" error in Devmanager in vista markm75 Asus Motherboards 20 October 14th 08 06:15 PM
"true life" vs. "anti-glare" of Vostro 1500: What are the brightness & contrast ratios??? Thomas G. Marshall Dell Computers 1 April 11th 08 10:47 PM
Acronis 10 and Vista x64: "failed to backup file or folder" "error reading the file" 0x40001 markm75 Storage (alt) 0 February 24th 07 04:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.